International Advisory Council

The International Advisory Council (IAC) has the mission to assist the University Board in shaping Bocconi global strategy in research, education and social impact, anticipating future trends, generating growth opportunities for its networks (students, faculty members, alumni, donors, employers) and strengthening Bocconi reputation and positioning around the world.

The IAC consists of prominent international figures who convey their European and global vision to Bocconi.
The Council is co-chaired by Vittorio Colao and Catherine De Vries.
Six representatives of Bocconi complete the membership of the International Advisory Council.


Vittorio Colao Member of the Executive Committee, Bocconi University | Vice-Chairman EMEA, General Atlantic

Catherine De Vries Dean for International Affairs and Professor of Political Science, Bocconi University



Jutta Allmendinger President, WZB Berlin

Antonio Belloni Group Managing Director, LVMH

Jean-Laurent Bonnafé Director and CEO, BNP Paribas

Thomas Buberl CEO and Director, AXA

Ilaria Capua Professor and Senior Fellow in Global Health, Johns Hopkins University, SAIS Europe

Luca De Meo CEO, Renault

Daniel Diermeier Chancellor | Distinguished University Professor of Political Science, College of Arts & Science, and Management, Owen School of Management, Vanderbilt University

Belen Garjio Chair of the Executive Board & CEO, Merck

Eli Gelman Director and Chairman of the Technology and Innovation Committee, Amdocs Limited | Chairman of the Executive Council, Tel Aviv University

Mario Greco Group CEO, Zurich Insurance Group

Sylvie Goulard President, Deutsch Französisches Institut

Vivian Hunt CIO, United Health Group

Guido Imbens The Applied Econometrics Professor and Professor of Economics, Stanford Graduate School of Business

Peter Löscher Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Telefónica Deutschland Holding AG

Terrie Moffitt PhD, Nannerl O. Keohane University Professor of Psychology, Duke University

Leena Nair CEO, CHANEL

Diego Piacentini Senior Advisor, KKR

Jan W. Rivkin C. Roland Christensen Professor of Business Administration, Harvard Business School

Jim Snabe Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Siemens

Elke Weber Gerhard R. Andlinger Professor in Energy and the Environment, Princeton University 

Sharon White Chair, John Lewis


Bocconi University Representatives 

Andrea Sironi President

Guido Tabellini Vice President

Francesco Billari Rector

Riccardo Taranto Managing Director

Enrico Cucchiani Member of the Executive Committee

Mario Monti President, Istituto Javotte Bocconi