Research Political Sciences

Bocconi University Celebrates Research Successes with Alumni

, by Fabio Todesco
With the Research Celebration on Wednesday, 29 November, the University aims to raise awareness about the results that have earned it respect as a research university, honoring the individuals who have achieved these milestones

For years, Bocconi has been recruiting the best researchers from the international academic market based on their ability to conduct impactful research. The University rewards researchers for publications in leading peer-reviewed journals, supports academics in competing successfully for prestigious European and Italian research funding, and manages a PhD School that trains young faculty members to secure positions in top global universities (Harvard Business School and Duke University being examples of this year's placements). Bocconi also produces graduates who gain admission to the best international PhD programs and disseminates research results through its communication activities. Many of its courses are built upon the latest research advancements.

"All these features, the result of years of planning, allow Bocconi to proudly define itself as a research university," says Rector Francesco Billari.

On Wednesday, 29 November, the University will celebrate the achievements of its researchers in the first Research Celebration, open to Alumni, providing them with an opportunity to appreciate this aspect of their alma mater.

"Our graduates," says the Dean for Development and Alumni Relations, Antonella Carù, "already play an important and passionate role in identifying research work to receive the Impact Award, which will be presented during the Celebration." Indeed, an Alumni jury, composed this year of Alessandro Bogliolo, Audemars Piguet Chair of the Board of Directors; Barbara Cominelli, CEO Italy and EMEA retail at JLL; Veronica Diquattro, President of B2C Europe at Omio; Monica Mandelli, Managing Director at KKR; and Alessandro Valenti, President EMEA at Louis Vuitton, will select the winner from a shortlist prepared by the University's Research Committee.

During the evening, researchers who have contributed to international recognition of the quality of Bocconi's research by securing significant competitive research funding since 2022 will also be honored. This includes, for example, funding managed by the European Research Council (ERC) at the European level or the Italian Science Fund (FIS) of the Ministry of University and Research.

"The selection criterion for competitive funding is scientific excellence," says Dean for Research Elena Carletti. "That's why we want to celebrate the achievements of those who have enabled us to lead the rankings for the number of grants in our disciplines. These results acknowledge Bocconi's ability to attract talent and develop cutting-edge research."

Awards will be given to Arnstein Aassve, Nicoletta Balbo, Giuseppe Berlingieri, Tito Boeri, Luca Braghieri, Giuditta Callea, Michela Carlana, Oriana Ciani, Antonio De Rosa, Erika Deserranno, Daniele Durante, Nicola Gennaioli, Luigi Iovino, Nicola Limodio, Giulio Malavolta, Florian Nagler, Greta Nasi, Debora Nozza, Marco Ottaviani, Zachary Parolin, Oreste Pollicino, Julien Sauvagnat, Mara Squicciarini, Botond Szabo, Rosanna Tarricone, Scott Williamson, and Giacomo Zanella.

CLICK HERE to learn about the topics of their projects.